Benefits of Silence when Editing

I know on my last audio-related post there was some debate over the value of editing with soundproof headphones.  Well, I went ahead and made my pair, using the guide I posted, and they work great.  And guess what?  I quickly found out that my audio on Issues, which sounded balanced on the computer, was in fact a bit too far to the right.  Seems my camera/sound man recorded the right channel a bit louder than the left.  I thought it was negligible, but it’s quite noticeable now.  And that will need to be fixed if we ever intend to put Season 1 onto a DVD.

So, while you should definitely preview your sound over the medium it’s going to primarily play through, it does help, in my opinion, to do some editing in a soundproof atmosphere with separate sound feeding to your right and left ears.  I couldn’t pick up the difference on my laptop speakers, or my desk speakers, which are pretty close together.  But isolate the right and left channels from the rest of the world, and you find a problem that would have absolutely ruined a DVD if it was played in a decent home theater system.

I love my home-made soundproof phones because the quality is good, they were dirt cheap, and as a passive system, they never need to be charged.  That means they can come with me anywhere, as long as I don’t mind people looking at me slightly oddly – they are a bit large since they cover the entire ear.

Another benefit to editing in that otherwise silent environment – I picked up on some background sounds that escaped my notice earlier, but would become distracting if I played with the sound level at all.  I’ll now know to clean those up moving forward with my re-edits.

Oh!  Keep your fingers crossed for me everyone!  We submitted Issues for the 2010 Streamy Awards, and the nominees are supposed to announced sometime in the next couple weeks.  The awards are in April.  I’m really hoping we receive a nomination somewhere!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

