Thoughts on Graduate Study

I’m in the midst of some very serious life decisions. As I’ve alluded to a few times on this blog, I currently attend graduate school. The serious life decision I’m debating is that of leaving my current school, and resuming study at a different facility after a healthy amount of time I need to get my personal and professional lives more on track. I’m lucky enough to work for the coolest company I can think of, and they were good enought to give me a promotion recently. Because of that promotion, I now work in Manhattan, which is looking like it will prompt a move to Queens or the Bronx in the spring. I have a great boyfriend and some wonderful friends who share my passion for producing content for the web. And we have a bunch of ideas developing.

And what I’m realizing now is that the graduate program I’m currently in doesn’t really contribute to those areas of my professional life. Which makes paying $10,000 a semester to attend said program feel slightly ridiculous. And while there is an MFA program at NYU I am very interested in, I don’t feel like I’m at the point, professionally, where that MFA makes sense. An MFA for me is a way to work on some projects with people who are just as passionate at me, and to gain the credentials to teach at the college/university level. I already have some passionate people to work on projects with, and I’m not ready to teach.

Graduate school is a big question for an editor or any other filmmaker. It’s an enormous investment to make, and you need to be sure that it will really benefit you. I entered my program thinking I could make it something it wasn’t. I’m realizing that now. I’m also learning that there is such a thing as having too much going on in life. And I’m accepting that adding to my student debt is not in line with the rest of my priorities right now. I’d rather work at bringing some of the truly fun projects I have the priviledge to work on to fruition. I’m petitioning for a leave of absence from my current program to really give myself time to make up my mind. More as it unfolds.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

