Networking to Find Solutions

Well, last post I was feeling very intimidated by Avid.  I posted as much on my Twitter account, and was happy to find support and advice from friends and other professionals who follow me.  In general, I found that few of them like Avid more than FCP – it’s just a necessary part of the job because it’s so prevalent.  They encouraged me to keep plugging away at it.

My friend Sean, who is also assistant director  of Issues, told me he understands the frustration, as he’s fought with both Avid and FCP in the past.  During an IM conversation, I told him my doubts about whether or not I could grasp this software without paying for Avid’s rather expensive training.  ($550 is quite a bit when you’re yearly salary is only about $12,000.)  I had thought that since Avid didn’t publish any training books, I wouldn’t be able to find one.  He urged me to go onto Amazon and look.  He knew there were books that would do what I wanted, just didn’t know their names.  After getting some sleep (Sean and I tend to have most of our conversations very late at night), I looked yesterday morning.  Low and behold, I found a highly rated beginner-to-intermediate training book on Avid MediaComposer, and it includes media to practice with.  The book is currently en route from it’s seller in Missouri, and I’ll have it by Monday.

For those who may be interested, the book I’ll be using is Avid Editing: A Guide for Beginning and Intermediate Users, and more information on it can be found at Barnes & Noble.  The book normally retails for around $50.  I found a private seller who was trying to get it off the shelf, and so got it for a bit less than that.

So I’ve found training for Avid, and only paid $30 for it.  Much more appetizing than the $550 I was originally looking at.  I feel more confident in my ability to learn the interface now that I have direction and specific projects to work on.  If I just fumble around on my own, I doubt I would learn as much, and I doubt I would enjoy it.  Instead, I like the feeling of accomplishment when I finish a project and see that it turned out exactly the way it should have.  It’s what keeps me going with Photoshop, and it’s what got me through my basic training in Motion, using the built-in tutorials.

In short, I’m beginning to shift my focus in social networking.  My Facebook is for friends only – mostly ones that I have met in person, though there is one exception.  Twitter is mainly becoming for my professional life.  I do follow and talk to friends on my Twitter feed.  But I spend far more time talking to other professionals.  In fact, the creator of Life After Lisa, a web-series based out of Balitmore, and I have been talking rather frequently.  I’m hoping to meet up with her next week when we’re both in New York for Internet Week.  (We plan to bond on both being turned down by a group we were hoping to get screened by.)  My network is making life easier for me, and more enjoyable.  I love talking to other people who do what I do.  I feel like we can often work in pretty isolating circumstances, so it’s always wonderful to be able to connect with them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

