Welcome!

Well, I never know what to write in the first post of a blog.  I’ve been feeling rather productive today.  Aside from cleaning part of the living room – I’m constantly at war with the clutter that accumulates in my small apartment –  I spent some time updating my LinkedIn profile today, and have been asking experienced editors, producers, and other professionals what a good editor needs.  I think I know some of what they’ll say, should they be kind enough to reply, but I also know I can’t anticipate all of what they’ll say.

My goal is to have full-time work as an editor, with a real career path, in the next 8 to 12 months.  Statistics show that the typical job search takes 5 to 8 months, but since I no doubt will have to develop a few more of my skills before being fully employable, I’ll aim for a bit farther than that.  The whole time I’ll keep up what I’m doing now:  earning my MA in Media Studies at The New School, and working with Scott Napolitano on several web video projects, including Issues.

Just for reference, to find out a bit more about me and the purpose of this blog, visit the About page.  That’s where all that good stuff is.  Well, for now I think I should consider dinner.  I’ll try to write short updates on a daily basis and longer posts weekly.  Welcome, everyone!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

